I'm learning Fench

Started by crowbi_wan, January 11, 2008, 03:28:42

Previous topic - Next topic

crowbi_wan

Hello, or perhaps I shall say salut!  I've decided to learn some French before I head over to see The Cure in March.  Mostly, as I'm just getting started, I've been working on pronunciations.  Just now, though, I'm move to some words and how to use them in phrases.  There's something I find puzzling, though.  How do you know when to use "une" or "un"?  I understand that one is masculine while the other is feminine.  Same thing for "la" and "le".  An example of why I find this confusing is this.  Take the word "window" (la fenetre).  What makes a window feminine?  A "picture", or le tableau, is masculine.  How do you know this?  I suppose mispronouncing (or mixing the two up) is not that big of a deal and I would assume that anyone I speak with would understand if I use un instead of une (or "la" in place of "le").  Still, it's a difficult concept for an American to grasp and I'd like to develop as much of an understanding of you language as I possibly can in the short time I've allotted myself.   

scatcat

As in English, male & feminine forms are sometimes differentiated by the use of two quite separate words,, e.g.:
mon uncle ( my uncle)..  ma tante (my aunt)
un taureau ( a bull)... une vache (a cow)

easy enuff!!  :lol:

There are some words in French, however, which show this distinction by THE FORM OF THIER ENDING:- some nouns add an e   to the masculine singular form to form the feminine.

-If the masculine singular form already ends in -e , no further e is added in the feminine.

-some nouns undergo a further change when e is added. These changes occur regularly.

In French, all nouns are either masculine or feminine ( which you have already stumbled across, Brian!), whether denoting people, animals or things.
Unlike English, there is no 'neuter' gender for inanimate objects and abstract nouns.