dvd - mpeg

Started by crowbi_wan, March 03, 2006, 07:43:57

Previous topic - Next topic

crowbi_wan

okay, first of all i know i should get a dvd burner.  soon, i will.  for now though, i have downloaded a few cure dvds.  is there a way to transfer the dvd files into mpeg?  maybe i'll try TMPGEnc 3.0 as it worked for avi and seems to be a pretty vesitile program for transfering video to mpeg.  i'm really new to doing video and am just unsure if i need a dvd burner to access the dvd files.  

-brian

lostflower4

Do you actually mean going backwards from DVD format back to MPEG-2? If so, it's easy. DVD files are virtually MPEG files in a different structure. Look in the DVD directory, and many of the files will have a .vob extension. Simply change this extension to .mpg and that's it. No conversion required (which is a good thing). The only thing is that VOB files are split into 1 GB sections, so you might have to patch them together for a long video. But it works like a charm. The same thing works on VCD's. You can change the DAT exensions to MPG.

For some easy ways to change extensions, take a look here:

http://www.imaginary-lemurs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=361

Did I understand your question correctly? :?

crowbi_wan

thanks caley.  yes, i'm trying to change dvd files that i downloaded from dimeadozen to mpeg as i don't have a dvd burner.  my HD is getting filled up quickly and i need to free up some space.  plus, i want to watch me some cure shows :D   i also found a g'n'r show i went back in '91!  

-brian

japanesebaby

if you have vob files you can actually just change the .vob extension to .mpg since vob files are already in mpg format.

but why exactly would you want to go back to mpg? in order to re-author the stuff, make new menus or something like that?