Author Topic: Robert Smith guests on "8.58" album  (Read 2122 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ulrich

  • Staff Member
  • Curefan Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
  • Karma: 83
Robert Smith guests on "8.58" album
« on: March 07, 2015, 09:53:39 »
Robert Smith continues his "series" of guest appearances:
New version of 'Please' out March 30th
"Premonition and Pitchfork have announced that Paul Hartnoll's new album, "8:58", to be released on March 30th, will feature Robert Smith. That album will include a reworking of the song "Please" that had already been released in 2007. It will also include a studio version of the cover version of A Forest by The Unthanks that you mentioned on CoF on Dec 20, 2013. Full track list here:" (Thanks Olivier)

From the Biography section on the '8:58' website:
 "Elsewhere there are intriguing, twilit collaborations with Northumbrian folk clan The Unthanks, sepulchral singer-songwriter Ed Harcourt, folk singer Lisa Knapp, and Robert Smith of The Cure — the latter on a newly-rediscovered and superior version of Paul’s 2007 single ‘Please’.

Paul Hartnoll, formerly of Orbital (which came to an end last year), will release his self-titled new album under the name 8:58 on March 30 via ACP. Today, he's shared a video for his single "The Clock". It stars Cillian Murphy (Batman Begins, Inception), who also provides vocals on the track. Watch the creepy, Luke Losey-directed clip below, via

"I’ve always been interested in time," Hartnoll said of the song in a statement. "I’ve always had a thing for clocks, and for time as a powerful force—but also the way time oppresses you. It’s one of those things I keep coming back to."

The 8:58 album will also feature the Cure's Robert Smith, Ed Harcourt, the Unthanks, and Lisa Knapp. Find 8:58's forthcoming tour dates below the video.
Can't you see I try? Swimming the same deep water as you is hard...