Musical Technicalities & Conversations Thread

Started by SueC, January 17, 2020, 02:11:49

Previous topic - Next topic

SueC

This thread was created so people can ask questions and provide answers on musical technicalities.  There's people learning and playing musical instruments on this forum who may be able to help others with questions they have always wanted to ask.

The other purpose of this thread is for people to be able to have general conversations about playing music - if you are learning / playing a musical instrument (or have done so in the past) you might like to tell us what instrument(s), what you liked and disliked about it, what it taught you about music and about life to be learning an instrument, whether it made you appreciate the music you listen to more, things like that.  Also, the learning process is often very interesting - are you mostly self-taught (noodling around, books, CDs, online tutorials etc), did (/do) you have regular lessons with a proficient person, or are you somewhere in-between?  If you had actual tutors helping you, tell us about any you loved and why, and also any that you weren't that happy with and why.  And just tell us anything else you want to about playing your instrument(s) - professional players that inspire you, your favourite pieces of music featuring the instrument you are learning (clips would be great!), etc etc.

:angel :cool  :beaming-face

So I know that @jestoon425 is learning bass, and I wondered if I could ask him something, and so that I don't hijack his thread, here are my questions (and of course anyone can chip in  :))...